SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Lake Champlain - greetings! (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/95579-lake-champlain-greetings.html)

Zeke 01-09-2013 05:27 PM

Lake Champlain - greetings!

I've been sailing for 50 years but just bought my first boat (second, if you count an old Barnegat Bay Sneak Box I restored before selling it) - and it's a 1976 Catalina 22, hull # 6105.

Lots of small items need repairs or modifications but given we only have two seasons here (winter and Fourth of July) there's plenty of time to do the work and get it ready for ice-out sometime in April.

I noticed lots of sailboats on Lake Champlain and Memphramagog - both of which are close to 100 miles long but no Catalina owner's club. Perhaps I can change that ;-)

Should any of you own a C-22 and sail either lake, I'd love to hear from you!

Thanks for reading and thanks for letting me hang out here...

Ken

Silvio 01-15-2013 05:21 PM

Re: Lake Champlain - greetings!

Welcome Zeke! I hope you enjoy Sailnet. I love the Catalina 22, it is what my wife and I learned to sail on. Although we were in Florida at the time so we had a year 'round sailing season. We're on the Chesapeake now and I think this is far enough north for me 8-)

Jump over to the general discussion area and tell us more about your boat. i would love to read about what you do with it.

jrd22 01-15-2013 06:03 PM

Welcome Zeke! That must be some sort of record, 50 years sailing and never owned a boat! I'm sure you're going to have a lot of fun with the C22.

hallucination 01-15-2013 09:20 PM

down a little bit further in the adirondacks...there is a place called "camp of the woods" before my gama sold it, it was where i grew up. I have found that ALL the information you need is here.

enjoy sailing! hope to be able to talk you into a Caribbean trip. thats where I ended up!