Not your average SailNet member... - SailNet Community
Introduce Yourself Welcome to the Sailnet.com - The world's largest online sailing community! Tell us about yourself so we can get to know you.

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Capt.Alex

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-24-2013 Thread Starter
"Anhinga" St. Augustine

Not your average SailNet member...

Hello,
I am a new member here and hope to gain a lot of knowledge from all of the sailing experts here. In exchange, I hope to be able to contribute some of my expertise as well.
I chose my user name not because someone gave me one of those navy blue caps from WM that says "Captain" on it, but because I make my living as the Captain of a large tri-deck diesel burning gazillion dollar obnoxious motor yacht. I hold a USCG Master ticket and have logged many thousands of sea miles from New England to the Caribbean. I admit most of the miles have not come under the power of the wind, but I do have some sailing time under my belt as well.
In the past my wife and I have owned, lived aboard, and been full time cruisers on a sailboat plying the waters of the U.S. East Coast and most of the Bahamas. We have been sailboatless for the past 10 years and have been getting our boating fix on powerboats while we both have full time jobs. However, the time has come to start easing back into the sailing lifestyle and so, I am pleased to announce that I just made an offer on our new sailing/floating home.
I hope to gain some wisdom from the experts here and hopefully make some new friends as well. If all goes as planned We should be residing part time aboard our new boat in St. Augustine FL within a couple of months.
I assume I am not he average member here because I find it is rare that someone that spends as much time on motor yachts as I do is willing to make the switch back to the sailing lifestyle, as they are soooo different. Please don't hate me because I made a deal with the devil in order to make a living