SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Newbie from Southern Chesapeake Bay

2K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  jasenj1 
#1 ·
Hello all. I got into sailing a few years ago by attending a crew party for a local racing group. From there, I went down to the dock one race evening and found a boat that was short handed. I bounced around between a few boats before settling in with a group on a J/30. I've been crewing with them for about three years. Spring, Summer, and Fall series races with a few special regattas. I usually work the pit and mid-ship, as the owner drives and another guy works the bow.

Now I'm getting the itch to own my own boat. But I want to start with something simpler (and cheaper) than a fixed keel boat. I'm eyeing the trailer-sailers very closely.

If anyone on here is near the Hampton area and are looking for crew for some local sailing, drop me note.

- Jasen.

#4 ·
Racing a J30 should provide some tales.
Not too many so far.
We've had one or two unintentional jibes - ouch!
And we got hit by another boat - while we were the committee boat! The other boat crossed the finish line, stalled, and drifted back into us. New bow pulpit for us was the damage.