SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   New Sailer Looking for Sage Advice (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/introduce-yourself/97651-new-sailer-looking-sage-advice.html)

joebow 03-17-2013 03:15 PM

New Sailer Looking for Sage Advice

Salutations! I am new to sailing and looking to get a lot of advice here. My first major sailing trip I will be doing is to sail down the ohio river to the ocean and back. Everything I do will be focused on making that happen. I look forward to hearing you all!

DRFerron 03-17-2013 03:36 PM

Re: New Sailer Looking for Sage Advice

Welcome to SailNet, Joe. That's an interesting trip. There is an endless supply of advice in this forum. Go check out the Learning to Sail section and spend some time reading the other forums. Guaranteed you'll have plenty of questions after just a few hours.

Best of luck with your journey.

chuck53 03-17-2013 03:53 PM

Not trying to squash your dreams, but narrow, winding rivers like the Ohio really aren't good sailing rivers, not that it can't be done. Most likely, you will find yourself motoring a lot more than sailing.
What kind, size boat are you planning to make this trip with?

campuscab 03-17-2013 04:11 PM

Motoring down the Erie Canal sounds fun. It is on my bucket list. The Mississippi sounds like more work. The Canal seems to be a bit tamer, shorter, and cool towns along the way.

Silvio 03-17-2013 05:40 PM

Welcome aboard.
Plenty of advice around here, don't if any of it will be sage!
Stick around, ask questions, have a good time.

joebow 03-18-2013 07:24 AM

I don't have any specific boat in mind at the moment. I do know so far that I want at least two mains, two jibs, a motor and a place to sleep. That's as specific as my requirements are at the moment.

davidpm 03-18-2013 08:54 AM