Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Irwin
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-14-2013

TomandKarens34 is on a distinguished road
Irwin 34 Citation restoration Commentary

I'm not going to suggest I am an expert on boat construction. I am not. I am, however, reasonably competent. There are many folks out there with skills equal to mine who might be tempted to take on this kind of task. I am mostly finished with my restoration and I believe that my experience may be informative to others considering a similar task. My reflections on this restoration are somewhat generic, in that most elderly boats have similar issues. With that thought in mind, I am going to post a sequence of issues, as the 4 page article I just wrote got lost when my browser crashed. I don't want to do this a third time.
Generally speaking, when buying an Irwin or similar vessel 30 years or more of age, you must accept the fact that the boat is worn out. Almost every system on a boat this old is certainly beyond its service life. There are no corners that can be cut in the rebuild. Anything you brush off, ignore, or assume will be OK is suspect until you have gotten into it and examined it in detail to prove that it is robust and workable. My fuel tank and rudder are great examples of what I mean. I am a lousy photographer, believe me. The stuff I will post looks better in real life. So I'll get going in the next post.
Old 09-14-2013

Re: Irwin 34 Citation restoration Commentary

The Hull and Deck: