SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Irwin (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/irwin/)
-   -   Can someone please tell me what this sail is for? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/irwin/57868-can-someone-please-tell-me-what-sail.html)

CaptainDCD 09-09-2009 06:04 PM

Can someone please tell me what this sail is for?

I am a bit new to sailing yet, and this sail was in a compartment in our 37 cc ketch.. luff 15' (approx) , foot 6' (approx).. Can someone please tell me what it is for... my assumption is that it is for the mizzen, but not sure how it would attach.

http://i562.photobucket.com/albums/s...ysterysail.jpg

JohnRPollard 09-09-2009 07:34 PM

Except for the fact the colors are reversed, it looks like a giant version of the signal flag "A" (which is sometimes used for divers). But, again, the color scheme is wrong.

I would venture that it is some kind of riding sail (used at anchor, or sometimes with a sea anchor, to keep the bow into the wind). It is a funny shape, but I've seen some odd looking ones that were bent over a backstay to create an almost kite-like sail.

sailak 09-10-2009 01:27 AM

Are you sure it's a sail? Any chance it's a sunshade or something along those lines?

tdw 09-10-2009 04:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JohnRPollard (Post 521098)
Except for the fact the colors are reversed, it looks like a giant version of the signal flag "A" (which is sometimes used for divers). But, again, the color scheme is wrong.

I would venture that it is some kind of riding sail (used at anchor, or sometimes with a sea anchor, to keep the bow into the wind). It is a funny shape, but I've seen some odd looking ones that were bent over a backstay to create an almost kite-like sail.

Pollard...have you been into the rum again ?

Come on guys...if that thing once was it sure as heck ain't any more.

Sun shade of some kind.....maybe made up from the remants of an old headsail.....

JohnRPollard 09-10-2009 07:50 AM

Quote: