Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Irwin
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-30-2010

CaptBillW is on a distinguished road
28.5 1973 Irwin, my first sailboat!

I just purchased a 28.5 1973 Irwin.
I am new to sailing and this is my first boat. It has an Atomic4 gas motor that seems to run well.
What are my major concerns with the boat?
The owner has removed the centerboard as he said it sails fine without one. Thoughts?

I would like to use this for cruising the Florida coast and Bahamas. Should I be worried in the boat?
I have a lot to learn as the only sailing I have done is on a sunfish.

Also, there is a wind vane installed. I would like to put davits on but not sure if I should remove the wind vane. Thoughts on this?
I also want a dinghy. Would like to have a 4 person I flatable but not sure what size is practical for my size boat.
Thanks to anyone that responds for helping a newbie
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-30-2010
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
That's a pretty small boat for davits, IMO. There are 8 foot inflatables that can handle 4 people... look for a "larger tube diameter" model.. big difference in carrying capacity and dryness. An 8 footer could be stowed upside down on the foredeck during passages (esp if you have jib furling)

If you're going to be sailing shorthanded the wind vane could be helpful.. I'd keep it esp if you're heading off the coast.

By the time you get that dinghy and a small outboard for it, your stern rail will be busy enough without davits!

Congrats and good luck!

1984 Fast/Nicholson 345 "FastForward"

".. there is much you could do at sea with common sense.. and very little you could do without it.."
Capt G E Ericson (from "The Cruel Sea" by Nicholas Monsarrat)
Old 09-30-2010
Handsome devil