Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Boat Builders Row > Islander
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012

cadteach is on a distinguished road
New owner

Wondered if I could get some help. I'm new to sailing and boating in general, having just purchased a 1983 Islander Bahama 30. It has a Kenyon boom, and I'm unclear about the whole reefing setup. The boom has a cam lock near the front for the reefing line, and it goes thru the boom and out the back, over a block/pulley.

I see the reefing clew on the main, I'm just not sure, does the line tie directly to the clew in the main, or does it go thru the clew and back around the boom?

There are no cleats on the boom underneath the reefing clew, and no signs that any ever existed. In the owners manual it looks like the reefing line comes down to the boom, but I'm not at all sure how?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-13-2012

dacap06 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to dacap06
Islander Bahama Reefing System

The early and mid '80s Islander Bahama setup is just the clue line portion of the two line slab reefing system. The tack reefing line is replaced by the reefing hook on the gooseneck.