SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Jeanneau (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/jeanneau/)
-   -   Cost for Bottom Paint Job (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/jeanneau/51976-cost-bottom-paint-job.html)

tooobx 02-28-2009 01:39 PM

Cost for Bottom Paint Job

I have a 45 foot sloop, two years old. Can anyone please tell me what a fair price is to have a boat yard redo the bottom with a good quality ablative paint. I purchased the boat new with an ablative paint on it already - quality unknown. I have no prior experience with boat yards and feel obviously helpless with every conversation. I learned the cost of the paint is about $200 +/- per gallon. But I can't find reliable information on what a yard would charge a knowledgeable owner. Thanks for any help offered.

sailingfool 02-28-2009 01:56 PM

Depends on what you expect to be done. You don't want to paint the bottom unless it needs the paint, i.e. there isn't enough on already to last until the next haul. Less ablative paint is better than more. Your bottom may need:
1. No paint at all.
2. Touch up on low spots where a base coat is showing.
3. Touch up and one full coat.
4. If the existing paint is flaking off, strip the bottom to gelcoat or barrier coat, paint with one coat of base paint , then two coats of top paint. this is a very expensive job.

A two year old boat should not have too much paint on it, so you shouldn't need to strip paint. Touch up and one coat should be cheap, in boat terms, I would think $400-500 plus paint, although it's been 7-8 years since I had a yard paint my bottom. Again, don't paint unless you know you need it.

tooobx 02-28-2009 02:16 PM