Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2013
Advanced beginner

emcentar is on a distinguished road
From Dinghy Sailor to Cruising

After sailing dinghys (Flying Scots) for the last few years, I started a search for a cruising boat in earnest this year.

I had planned to take a cruising course while I was searching. From the stories I read here, I expected I might search all year and not buy. But instead I found what appears to be a good boat early in my search and I have put a deposit on her.

So it's highly likely I'll be a boat owner before long, and before I've had a chance to take a cruising course. I've negotiated a couple of lessons on the boat after the sale as part of the deal, which hopefully will allow me to better understand the systems on this particular boat as well as serve as an introduction to cruising.

What else can I do to prepare for the transition? I have no experience sailing under power, anchoring, docking under power, wheel steering, etc. I'm studying books, and watching a number of sailing instructional videos to prepare, and I'm hoping that all these things plus my dinghy experience and lots of practice on my own boat will substitute for a cruising course altogether, at least in the short term.

Thoughts? Any suggestions or tips for making the transition from dinghy to cruising?

E.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-03-2013

johnnyquest37 is on a distinguished road
Re: From Dinghy Sailor to Cruising

You probably can get most of what you need from doing what you are doing - reading, study, etc. There are some tricks associated with motoring, docking, anchoring, but it's not that difficult. Perhaps someone with big boat experience can go out with your on your new boat or you can go out on their boat. It's harder to sail a small boat, in general. Bigger boats are harder to maintain and dock.