Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2013

redbaron is on a distinguished road
asa school vs buying own 20-30ft and teach self?

So I'm new to sailing and was wondering from other people who have experienced these situations on what to do. I live in utah so lake sailing is my only way to go really. Question is to learn the proper skills I need to one day charter in the caribbean should I head down to cali and take a ASA course which runs around 1200 $ or buy my own small boat, 25ft or so, and teach/ have local yatch club people teach me at the lake
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-21-2013

deltaten is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to deltaten
Re: asa school vs buying own 20-30ft and teach self?

Lake sailing in Utah?

Buy it and go sailing. Stop by the YC and see if there's an RKI ta invite aboard

Big, open water (readcean) Go ASA

Next qualifier would be cost of boat.
A $2500 25 footer can be replaced and a $1200 course would be like paying a $1000 surveyor If yer talking a new, $50k+ boat; the cost of a course is quite a bit smaller percentage-wise

HTH,
Paul
RobGallagher and jimgo like this.
Old 07-21-2013
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road

Sunsail, at least, is fine with allowing bareboat charters for lake sailors. A few in my sail club, who normally sail on an inland lake were allowed to captain the charter boats.

They decided not to, and instead had more experienced folks share the boat.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Catalina 30 TRFK

Contributing Editor
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
magazine

Rock Hall Cruising Station

All things that are, are equally removed from being nothing. John Donne
Old 07-21-2013