Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2013

JollyMon is on a distinguished road
Dinghy v. Keelboat as first boat

I'm just starting out. I am looking at getting either a Capri 14.2 or a Capri 22. I am leaning toward the 22 because I won't outgrow it as a daysailer. Any advice?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-09-2013
Captain Obvious

Sal Paradise is on a distinguished road
Re: Dinghy v. Keelboat as first boat

I've had both. The real answer lies with you; how you will use the boat, number of passengers, type of water body, trailer or marina.....etc... just what your expectations are.
CaribDream likes this.
Old 08-09-2013

JollyMon is on a distinguished road

More info from me might help: I will be sailing on Lake Murray, just outside of Columbia, SC. If I get a Capri 22, I will need to keep it at a marina, which is not a major issue. If I get a Capri 14.2 or equivalent, I can just keep it on a trailer at our family's lake house. We have waterfront on a nice wide cove, which except for a few Saturdays and Sundays during the summer is free of powerboats. In less than 5 minutes by motor, I can get to the widest part of the lake, which is where most of the regattas/races take place. I am not currently interested in racing. If that changes, I will look for crewing opportunities.
Old 08-09-2013

Tim R. is on a distinguished road

Get the smaller boat. Very little investment risk and you will learn faster on the less forgiving boat(IMO). You should have no trouble reselling it for as much as you paid given you did not over pay and you kept the boat up or improved it.
TJC45 likes this.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-----------------------------------------------------
Old 08-09-2013
Captain Obvious