Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2013

randsail is on a distinguished road
how much experience do I need

My Idea which I will take about a year from now to plan. Iam thinking about a 25 to 35 footer used boat. Ill have around 15000 dollars to spend on the boat. I have been on the water all my life ,but lakes not sailing, fishing.I want to sail from Boston to Florida. keep the boat about a mile from shore. I have no real sailing experience, but feel that I can do it. Am I fooling myself. If I have the boat and it is seaworthy, what can I expect. Iam sometimes impulsive, but I wont quit if things get tough. How much sailing experience do I need to pull this off??
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-17-2013

bigdogandy is on a distinguished road
Re: how much experience do I need

Welcome to Sailnet, Randsail. You'll probably get responses to your question ranging from "are you firkin crazy? There's no way a $15,000 boat would make that trip" to "no problemo, dude, just take it easy and watch the weather". The bottom line is whether or not you can do a trip like that depends on you, the boat you choose, how much time you spend learning about the boat, boat handling, navigation, provisioning and provisions management, weather, etc. before you head off on the voyage.

Odds are, based just on the question you have asked, you don't have enough experience to know what the hazards are that you will face or how to mitigate or address them when you meet up with them, and for $15,000 you need to be very careful in the boat you select to get one that is both a seaworthy design and is in good enough shape to make the trip.