Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Faster

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2013

domromer is on a distinguished road
Basic cat sailing question

I've got a pretty basic sailing question. Today we were sailing our wave and we had some real nice conditions. It was stormy and there was nice waves and white caps.

A storm rolled in and the conditions got pretty hairy so we began to sail in the dock. The wind was parallel to the shore. I sailed in a run and planned on turning into the wind when I got between the Docks. As I got close to the Docks the wind shifted and I was now sailing directly downwind. At the same time I started riding down the face of a wave and my sail was all the way out because I was trying to spill some wind. All of the sudden the entire front on the boat was under water. My wife and I scooted back toward the rudder to get out of the water. The boat kept pealing, I tried sheeting in and I tried turning. The boat kept pearling. Finally it surfaced. I'm not sure what I did. I was hoping you guys could offer some advice. I'm only sailing three months now. How would you handle that situation?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-22-2013
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Re: Basic cat sailing question