Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2013

drafter is on a distinguished road
JY15 in heavy wind, how much is too much?

Hello, This is my first year with my JY and I have done well with it in winds up to about 12mph. I sailed last week and the winter winds are starting to get faster. Wind speed was between 15-20mph, and as soon as I got out of the protected area (where I was doing well), the stronger wind grabbed the boat and turned it. I was easing the sheet and hiking out, but still could not hold the boat upright when close hauled or even on a beam reach. It consistently turned me leeward. I was alone, but at 200pounds was surprised that I could not keep the boat upright.

What am I doing wrong. I know the frostbiters will be out there in the dead of winter with even stronger winds....
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-24-2013
Tartan 27' owner

CalebD will become famous soon enough
Re: JY15 in heavy wind, how much is too much?

From a physics perspective the colder air is denser and has a bit more force as wind than warm summer air.

I don't know the JY15 but you might just ditch the jib and sail with the main.

I doubt your main sail has reefing points set in it.

Fall winds can be impressive.

Everybody has one:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 10-25-2013
Quirky

Sublime is on a distinguished road

I've got a dinghy sailor that's got a less sail area to weight ratio than yours and I put in a reef with winds at 20 mph.

A ship in harbor is safe, but that's not why ships are built.

My girls:
1974 Alcort Minifish-Minifish
2001 Drascombe Lugger-Penelope
2004 Hunter 260-Miss Muffet
Old 10-25-2013

Letrappes is on a distinguished road