SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Suitability of a Laser dinghy for learning

28K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  Sailormon6 
#1 ·
I was interested to hear people''s opinions on the suitability of the various Laser dinghies for a complete novice learning to sail.

Ultimately, I want to buy a boat for cruising at some time in the future (when I have enough money ;)), however after doing a little research, it would appear that buying a dinghy to learn to sail with would be one of the best and most economical ways to go about it.

I don''t know any sailors, so I thought asking here on the forums would be as good a place as any for some advice.

#2 ·
Well, Snappahead,

I know lots of sailors, and a good number of them would recommend learning to sail in a dinghy. Depending on where you live and how cold the water is and how windy it tends to be, Laser might not be my first choice (Cape Cod, for example) although you can learn sailing on a Laser well just about anywhere, even when it''s cold and windy as long as you don''t stray too far from where you launched. If you''re fairly young, Laser might be a good choice, if you''re older and out of shape, a little drier ride like a penguin or albacore might be best. It will also depend on what''s available in your area. You could find any number of sloop rig boats up to 16 or 17 ft. in length that you could single hand, particularly after you learn the basics. Find out what dinghy fleets race in your area and catch a ride crewing with someone to get an idea of how easily the boat handles, ask them how much used ones cost, whether any are for sale, etc.

Allen Flanigan
Alexandria, VA

#3 ·