Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2005

shane1974 is on a distinguished road
Heeling

Hi I am new to sailing and have just prchased a 28ft custom built huon pine sloop. being me I sometimes think that the best way to learn something is to get out there and do it, however when I went out the other day (first time) I was sailing down wind ok but when I turned to come back up stream the boat started to heel quite a bit so I turn the boat back down wind to stand it back up. My question is, is it hard to tip a yacht this size over.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2005

Irwin32 is on a distinguished road
Heeling

Just getting out there has its merits, but you should do some reading.

Typically, a 28 footer should be hard to "tip" over. However, many factors do come into play and a blanket rule is impossible. Some boats heel quite easily (called tender), yet once in the groove are quite solid. If your boat is of narrow beam it will heel easily. If it is well designed it will "stiffen up" once in the groove.

Tender boats need to reef their mains early and shorten head sail as well. This does not make them unseaworthy, one just has to learn how to handle the idiosycrasies of these designs.

Old 07-01-2005

JeffC_ is on a distinguished road
Heeling

Congratulations on the purchase of your new boat, and welcome into the sailing fraternity, Shane.