Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2014

tripl is on a distinguished road
Is a WW Potter 15 Good To Sail NYC Area?

Hi Everybody,

I am new to sailing and wat to ask opinions on learning to sail on a WWP 15 in and around the NYC area. Canthis boat even navigate the infamous Hell Gate strait in the best of conditions? I am close to purchasing a used P15 but I intend on trailer sailing it in this general area, at least until I get som hours under my belt. Any feedback will be appreciated. Thanks again.
Tripl
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-04-2014

AkaBud is on a distinguished road
Re: Is a WW Potter 15 Good To Sail NYC Area?

I don't know about NYC but I love my Potter 15. In the right hands they are very seaworthy. One looney even sailed one to Hawaii.
Learn more about them here: trailersailor.com
wwpotterowners.com
Old 04-04-2014

jeremiahblatz is on a distinguished road

I don't see why not. Hell Gate is fine if you go with the tide. (Navigating the East River - Planning Your Passage) You'll want an outboard in case the wind dies and the tide is going for both the East River and the Hudson. The East River is generally no fun, so stick to the Hudson or the LI Sound region.

I learned to sail on the Hudson, you should not just learn by the seat of your pants there. Thee is a lot of commercial traffic that cannot stop or maneuver around for you, you don't want to get stalled with your sheets all tangled in front of a barge.
Old 04-04-2014
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about