SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Learning on 20-30 foot sailboat

22K views 14 replies 10 participants last post by  MarkSF 
#1 ·
I am just beginning to research sailing with my wife. I have sailed with several friends in the past and have always wanted to learn. There are classes offered locally by a club who races dinghy's (sp?) and two other clubs that offer Basic Keelboating classes. I ultimately want to learn how to sail a boat that is around 30+ feet, but am unsure exactly where to start. Is the Basic Keelboating class the way to go? Is the certification that is included (by the ASA I believe) required? Something I need?

I would also like to know how much one should sail/practice/take lessons before buying a boat. I have a family of four with twin 11-year old daughters. I would like to have the family involved and start sailing on the
Columbia and then.....who knows.

Any help would be grand.

jim

#2 · (Edited)
Island Sailing Club

We were in a similar situation, and we went for a basic keelboat course at Island Sailing Club (on the Columbia at Tomahawk Bay, http://www.islandsailingclub.com/). We then joined the club for a year and sailed their Santana 20s, Capri 22s, Cal 24, and Catalina 25s for a year (with our two kids, age 5 and 7 at that time). We even did overnight trips with the kids to Government Island on their Santana 23 and Catalina 25s.

I learned to sail on Laser IIs and smaller dignhy sailboats many years ago, but for my wife and kids a small keelboat was the way to go. My wife and I learned on the Santana 20 footer and then took it out again many times before moving up to the Capri 22s. We now own our own Cal 20 and a C&C 27.