Sailing Qualification Guide - SailNet Community
 10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 Old 11-06-2014 Thread Starter

Sailing Qualification Guide

Hi, I'm a writer for The Boating Hub blog.

I'm constantly getting asked what qualifications and courses you need to learn to sail in various countries.

I was wondering if it was good idea to write a guide, explaining the qualifications needed to sail in each country worldwide.

It will take a lot of time, research and effort, but I'm hoping it will benefit budding sailors.

So, is it a good idea? Your opinion is appreciated

Lee.
elgatosunrise likes this.
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 Old 11-06-2014
Aspiring Sailor

Re: Sailing Qualification Guide

As a beginning sailor, I would find this helpful. The various sailing/cruising wikis are poorly done.
BoatingHub likes this.
The Following User Says Thank You to Raincoast For This Useful Post:
BoatingHub (11-06-2014)
post #3 of 43 Old 11-06-2014 Thread Starter

Thanks Raincoast, 100% yes so far
post #4 of 43 Old 11-06-2014

Thumbs down Re: Sailing Qualification Guide

I learned to sail as a little kid in a family of sailors. I don't get this courses and qualifications approach. I also spent one summer at a "sailing camp" and the first thing I was told to do was box the compass to 32 points. I guess that was a "qualification"?

Ecclesiastes 1:2
post #5 of 43 Old 11-06-2014 Thread Starter

Fair point WGEWald, 32 points, you've cracked it!

You can't sail in certain parts of the world without the right qualifications & licenses.. this guide would educate people on that.
post #6 of 43 Old 11-06-2014

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoatingHub View Post
You can't sail in certain parts of the world without the right qualifications & licenses.. this guide would educate people on that.