SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Advice from Experienced sailors!

3K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  sailorjim99 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello every one,

My name is Dean, im 19, live in london.. Currently manager of a bar, in kensington, and i just joined this forum today... Been looking through it, and it seems to be very helpful, and it's active which is a bonus!

I've been speaking to UKSA and im looking at doing there 'ocean graduate' course.. im very new to sailing, and dont have many logged miles.. Do you think this is a good way to get into it.. Any adivce, and tips would be greatfully appreciated!

Thnxs a lot for any help you may be able to give me..
Dean

#2 ·
I checked out the UKSA web site. The Ocean Graduate course bills itself as an intensive program preparing students for commercial work and is 23 weeks long. I think the UKSA Leisure courses RYA Competent Crew or RYA Dayskipper might be more suited to a beginning sailor.

#3 ·
SailinJay said:
I checked out the UKSA web site. The Ocean Graduate course bills itself as an intensive program preparing students for commercial work and is 23 weeks long. I think the UKSA Leisure courses RYA Competent Crew or RYA Dayskipper might be more suited to a beginning sailor.
well, im going on my competent crew course in a few weeks, down in the solent.. To see if i get 'the feel' for it.. personally i think i will.. i love the water, and water sports... i dive quite a lot too... It says that the course is fine for beginners? I'm not stupid, and im a good learner...

Thanks for your comments though mate...

#4 ·
Dean-

Good luck with the course... and enjoy... but do turn off the boldface. All boldface is a bit annoying...

#5 ·
Best of luck!