SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   New to sailing; "Your" wisdom and advice is heeded (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/18403-new-sailing%3B-your-wisdom-advice-heeded.html)

RocDoc 07-21-2006 03:02 PM

New to sailing; "Your" wisdom and advice is heeded

Hi All,

I am new to sailing, but have been around boats and the ocean since I was very little (I am 43 now). I have been lurking, reading posts, many posing the very same questions I have; and learning. I noticed something about myself as I've become adsorbed with the sailing world; at first I recognized that obviously I needed to learn on a smaller boat (currently looking at a fixer-upper Catalina 22) then move up. But that devil on my shoulder..."you can afford something bigger, why start small only to wish you had something bigger?"

As a long time motorcyclist, I've given the very same advice to new riders that "you" have been giving to us sailing newbies. Start small, learn the basics first! Don't run out and buy that 190mph 1000cc sportbike, you will not develop (or perhaps even survive) into the motorcyclist that enjoys the sport for a lifetime.

So, I say to "you", thanks for knowledge, and wisdom, and I look forward to lifetime of learning and enjoying the art of sailing.

Doug
Huntington Beach, CA

nolatom 07-21-2006 04:00 PM

Best of luck and good sailing to you. I think you're doing the right thing, in my experience the best sailors come out of small boats first. Also, you won't invest too much in that first used boat, and can then sell her for about what you paid, and decide what's next.

I started on the small Honda rice-banger twins, pretty much stuck with them except once when I had a '48 Indian fixer-upper....

Cruisingdad 07-21-2006 04:04 PM

New sailing thoughts