New sailor going from Key West to Cancun: HELP! - SailNet Community
 8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 05-08-2015 Thread Starter

New sailor going from Key West to Cancun: HELP!

Hey everybody! Thanks for checking out my post! I'm new to sailing, but am learning a lot as I go. I have a great instructor so that's good-- I'm going to go buy a Morgan 34 next week.

I want to sail early June to Cancun from key west, anybody know the best route to take? I don't know much about currents etc. so any advice would really help! ANY words of wisdom will do a lot of good for me so thank you!
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 05-08-2015
Dragon Mod

Dock
Re: New sailor going from Key West to Cancun: HELP!

Welcome to SailNet.

Forget the best route. You're buying a new to you boat next week and making this trip next month?

You're sailing in hurricane season.

You're sailing a new to you boat with (I'm guessing from your post) little to no sailing experience.

You're sailing across a body of water with no easy place to bail out should a storm pop up and no experience sailing this new boat let alone in heavy to extreme weather.

I'm sure others can add to the list of why it's not a good idea. You will, of course, get a few who say just go for it.

If you ask and your instructor tells you this is a good idea, I'd fire him if I were you.
JimMcGee, kjango and Mr. Bubs like this.

Donna

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Catalina 30 TRBS
post #3 of 23 Old 05-08-2015
El Chupa Nibre

^^ what she said.

And what's with all the Morgans lately?
post #4 of 23 Old 05-08-2015 Thread Starter