Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-02-2006

praxitek is on a distinguished road
Talking Looking for sailing classes

Hi all,

I'm a newbie, as I mentioned in my earlier thread.
I live in Portland Oregon, and was wondering if there are any sailing schools out there that are free or affordable.

I know in Canada the YMCA has a club in Vancouver which offers a week sailing camp at a very affordable price. However, here in Portland I have no idea where to even start.

Any ideas out there!!!!

Thank you,

Praxi
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-02-2006

sthundley is on a distinguished road
sailing schools

One thought,fly down to S.F. Bay,spend a week in a sailing school,if you can sail S.F. Bay then you can sail anywhere!! I know some school offer to stay on a boat while in school, try looking for Modern Sailing great school.
Before looking for free spend some money into proper training through a GOOD school,then decide what your future is.
Thomas
Old 08-02-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
BTW, I'd do the training and get some sailing in before looking for a boat. I'd highly recommend that you do at least the equivalent of a ASA Coastal Crusing certification course.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this