Whisker Pole rigging - SailNet Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By GeorgeB

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 08-18-2015 Thread Starter
Sailor

Whisker Pole rigging

I have a 25 C&C with a 130 genny and a topping lift for the pole. I just cant seem to get this set up right. I am attaching the pole to an eye on a track and to the sheet for the genny. I am new to using a pole and have watched a few you tube videos. I am looking for tips and tricks for using and rigging the pole. I have been trying it mostly in light air mostly because I am new to using it and don't want to do anything stupid or hazardous to my health.
thanks in advance
Jim

It's better to sail in a boat and think about God than to sit in a church and think about sailing
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 08-18-2015

Re: Whisker Pole rigging

Jim, a couple of pointers. You want to have the pole perpendicular to the mast and at clew height for your jib. I put a reference mark on the track. Pole length: Some people use the foot length for the pole length . I prefer using 90% of the LP of the sail. In your case, given a “J” of 11’ and a 130 genoa, I calculate a pole length of about 12’ 10”. If the pole has a habit of drooping, use your topping lift. If the pole is bouncing around in a swell or chop, you can steady it by looping the lazy sheet around a bow cleat and tightening it. Just remember to release it before gybing. And remember, going DDW even with a whisker pole is slow! To increase your speed, try sailing at 170 degrees AWA. If you have a wind fly, put the arrow over one of the tail tabs. Go out and try different combinations of sail trim. Every boat is a little different and you need to “dial in” the configuration that works best for you.
CVAT likes this.

George B
2000 Catalina 34 MkII
Alameda, Ca.
post #3 of 9 Old 08-19-2015