Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2006

marinesniper is on a distinguished road
battery question...

I just bought a 1980 30ft Lippincott and do not know anything about the battery setup ...? I know there are 2...but that is it...

I know this is not alot of info and I might be flamed but if anyone knows I would be grateful...

I want to know how many amps I have to look forward to...I want to run an Garmin 3210 (just bought) GPS, 36 inch plasma tv, XM satellite radio with weather and a small microwave...

Anyone have any ideas or guesses to how long my battery will last before I have to run the engine...?

Should I buy a solar panel or wind (thing for gathering energy)...

thanks...no flames please., I am a newbie...and the microwave is the wifes orders...I am 30 she is 22, so I have to please her...!

later,

farzam
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-15-2006
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Umm...it would help if you knew what size the batteries were...that would at least give us an estimate of what the amp-hour rating for them is.... saying you have two batteries means very little... you could have two 60 amp hour, Group 24 batteries.... or you could have two 200 amp hour, 8D batteries... or two nearly dead car batteries.

What you need to do is figure out what your electrical budget for the boat is by calculating what the amperage of each piece of equipment is and how long you're going to run it for per day, on average. Once you've gotten that estimate, you can figure out how much electrical power you'll need on average...