SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Gaf rigged inflatable questions..

2K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  Speedy60 
#1 ·
My dad and I have sailed many different boats before he "went over the reef" , all of them sloops. After he passed, I found a Sevylor inflatable with a sail kit in his "storage". The last time it was registered was 1989. This "boat" is gaff rigged, and I have no experience with them.... (Of course, no instructions on rigging, or otherwise).... So, I muddled through getting it set up, but have some questions before I take it out and snap my mast. It has an adjustable mast step that locks under the air tubes on each side, and an adjustable board that locks onto the oarlocks on each side that has a hole the mast goes through down into the mast step. Shrouds run from mast top to knobs that lock the lee boards in place on this top board. A (very) small jib seconds as a forestay. My main question is, with the shrouds being abeam the mast, and no visible backstay, what will keep me from snapping this "huge" 1 1/4 inch mast when I run downwind? I realize it carries a small mainsail area, maybe 35 sq. ft., but I don't want to ruin this little gem my first time out... Also, the main, the boom, and the gaff all have loops that slide onto the mast, I don't see any way to "lock" the gaff, or the boom in place on the mast. Are they supposed to float and only be controlled by the peak halyard? I am lost. Any help would be appreciated....

#2 ·
I know nothing about your particular boat, but it's most common to have no stays for a sailing dinghy mast at all. Having the forestay/jib is unusual.