Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2006

Slayer is on a distinguished road
Sawyers Sailing School

I am a newbie here so I hope its ok to plug Captain Bob's sailing school. I found it via a link on this site to the ASA website. I have been sailing for many years and am self taught. I have only sailed small boats and catamarans. I own a 13 foot Chrysler "Pirateer" sailboat. It has a main sail and jib. But I want to sail bigger boats and go on longer sails, so I decided to take a class.

I live in So. NH and found Sawyers Sailing School on the ASA website. It is located in a town just South of Brunswick, Maine. During the classes you sail in Casco Bay, which is a beautiful in-let with over three hundred islands.

Despite having sailed for many years, I took the basic keelboat sailing course, because there is a lot I didn't know. And also because this course is a prerequisite for more advanced courses.

The owner of the school, Captain Bob Sawyer, has over fifty years sailing experience. His is knowledgable, patient and clear in his explanations. I was the only one signed up for the course, so I got to do a lot of sailing. Anyone in the North East looking for a sailing school would do well by signing up as Sawyers.

It's too bad I have to wait until the spring to take the next course, "Basic Coastal Cruising."
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-26-2006

KAYAKDAN is on a distinguished road
Another ASA 101 graduate from Sawyers here. Bob was laid up with heart surgery,so a friend did the class. I have sailed,wife had not,so we both did ASA 101. Nothing like doing Basic Keelboat on an Island Packet 27!
Nice folks,good class,and the sailing in Casco/Harpswell is excellent. Later found out that my boat was moored 200ft from the class boat at Dolphin.
Old 11-18-2006

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAYAKDAN