SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Help: How do I rig up my spinnaker? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/24183-help-how-do-i-rig-up-my-spinnaker.html)

Hargadoo 10-19-2006 02:38 PM

Help: How do I rig up my spinnaker?

I have an Aloha 27 and it came with a spinnaker and pole. I've never used the spinnaker since owning the boat (5 months ago) and I'm quite new to sailing.
Where does the pole go?
what line/s do I attach to the spinnaker?
If anyone has an Aloha, can you take pictures of how you rigged up your spinnaker please?
Thanks.

Faster 10-19-2006 03:03 PM

OK, here goes.

You should have a ring on the front of your mast, either fixed about 5 feet off the deck, or on a sliding track. One end of the pole attaches to that. Make sure that you hang the pole on its pin, don't hook the end over the ring.

Part way upthe mast will be the pole lift, it attaches to the top bridle or ring once the pole is attached to the mast. The downhaul, run through blocks on the deck, attach to the lower bridle. Since this is a high load function, it really should have a full bridle, not a pole mounted ring.

The line that is going to be the the "guy" passes through the other end of the pole, around the forestay and then clips to the "tack" of the spinnaker. Do not clip the pole to the spinnaker. The other line, the sheet simply goes the the other corner, now the clew.

Attach the halyard and you're good to go. You can hoist for just aft of the bow on the leeward side, or from the pulpit. Some boats are rigged to hoist from the companionway but genoas get in the way of this.

There is obviously lots more to all of this, suggest you find some racing how-to books, or perhaps the Harken catalogues for diagrams and set up details.

Good luck

nolatom 10-19-2006 07:45 PM