SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Absolutely no experience, solo crossing an ocean?

18K views 74 replies 43 participants last post by  midwesterner 
#1 ·
Hello experienced sailors,

I've got this crazy idea of doing some solo-oceancrossings. I've lived on an adventure on land travellling the world the last two years, and now I want to do it at sea.

I can feel that I would love start sailing, but I've never been aboard a sailboat. I've watched hundreds of sailing videos on youtube and I have to do something like this as the adventurer i am.

I'm thinking of buying a 30 foot boat. Nothing fancy.

Is it possible for a total beginner to just buy a 30 foot boat with OK equipment for about $10k and begin sailing singlehanded?

#2 ·
Yes but! . . . . . .First get someone to take you out a few times before you buy . . . . also get some experience with others to learn a little in the beginning . . . Be sensible. . . . It isn't rocket science as they say but don't be foolish either, find out if it is "for you" maybe you are in love with the idea more than reality . . Slow in the beginning cowboy . . . .

#6 ·
You might want to read some of the accounts of people who have done it.

Stuart Woods' book, Blue Water, Green Skipper,
tells his account of preparing to sail a 30 foot sloop in the Trans Atlantic Globe race. I would think that you would want to at least do some of the type of preparation he did.