Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-20-2006

Mick Young is on a distinguished road
Keel locking device

Hi all. my partner and I have been sailing our 21' Boomerang for around 5 months with n ot alot of previous sailing experience.

We went for a sail on Westernport Bay, thats in Victoria Austraila, over the weekend and had a blast. We had nice light air in the morning and the wind swung 180 degrees and picked up to 15 knots. Having to beat back into the wind and a building swell to get back to the boat ramp the boat was pitching a fair bit. At one stage I thought I felt the keel lift and drop down again. looking down into the cabin I then notice a fair puddle that I hadnt seen before, not that I was looking though.

The keel is a dagger board design lowered on a winch through the hull with a seal of sorts that its 400lb just sits on. I hadnt seen water come through there unless we did stupid things like try to lower or raise it whilst doing more that a couple of knots ( part of the learning curve Doh). I have heard stories of keels lifting then smashing back down and through the bottom of the boats, not that I think ours can do that as the cable holds it from going down to far. Can anybody give me some advice as to waht I should do to lock it down as it doesnt have a lock of its own?

Keep it black side down

Mick
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-22-2006

Sailormon6 will become famous soon enough