Certified Class v. Learning by Doing - SailNet Community
 25Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 12-03-2016 Thread Starter

Certified Class v. Learning by Doing

Hey all,

Not sure if this was already discussed previously in another thread, but wanted to get all of your opinions. I'm new to sailing and trying to find the best way to dive in and learn in Chicago. I've read several viewpoints now of people who recommend finding a local US Sailing/ASA class and work your way up to a certification. I've also heard several people who took a lot more adventurous route by just getting out on the water with a small starter boat and figuring it out through experience and supplementing with some reading.

What would folks recommend? Are either of these approaches better than the other, or is there some middle ground of maybe not certification but a basic intro class and then on the water?

I'm operating on a smaller budget right now and obviously have some time before I can do either of these options with the weather as it is but wanted to pick your brains so that come May I'll have a good idea about how to finally get in to a dream of mine. I can see that classes provide a lot of good foundational skills and the right direction up front, but maybe not as much practice time on the water. Just getting out there gives maximum time, but I'm sure a lot of frustration and error along the way.

Thanks all for your thoughts, and apologies for the likely newbie question!
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 12-03-2016

Re: Certified Class v. Learning by Doing

Hey,