SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Sailing Certifications/Schools (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/2728-sailing-certifications-schools.html)

rwirawan 12-02-2001 06:06 PM

Sailing Certifications/Schools

I am a beginner wishing to enter the world of sailing, can u all help me with a couple of questions for now?

1. What are the good sailing schools in north western/rockies area (I live in Wyoming) in particular, or nationwide in general?
2. Which certifications I should aim for, US Sailing or ASA? Why?

SailorMitch 12-05-2001 03:43 AM

Reggie,

I live on the east coast so can''t help you with sailing schools in that part of the country. I can tell you that the Annapolis Sailing School has a very good program, with branches in FLA and the Caribbean I believe. Or come out to the Chesapeake for a class sometime.

One other suggestion is to look in the ads of the big sailing magazines. Lots of sailing schools advertise there.

As for certification, what do you want to do with your sailing? If it''s totally recreactional, you don''t need anything, although certificates from sailing schools will get you a reduction in your insurance if you buy a boat from some companies. If you want to teach sailing, then you need to get a certificate of some sort. But I do admit I ahve no idea which of the two you mentioned would be better for that purpose.

RobGallagher 12-05-2001 04:30 AM

I''m located in New England. I took the ASA Coastal Navigation and Basic Keel Boat classes. Even with many years of power boating experience I benefited greatly from the Coastal Navigation class. The Basic Keelboat class will teach you the basics on a small, but comfortable 24 ft boat. If you like your instructor, you can also hire him/her to go out with you on your boat for a few hours to get further instruction.

radio18 12-05-2001 09:08 AM