Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2007

MaineCub is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to MaineCub Send a message via MSN to MaineCub Send a message via Yahoo to MaineCub Send a message via Skype™ to MaineCub
Newbie: What's wrong with this picture

Warning: The below post is by an absolute beginner. Im still working on all the lingo!!

Okay.. This is a picture of a Tayana 37 posted on Yachtworld.com .

Why is the steering facing aft? Im foncused!

Here is the full link if you need it. http://www.yachtworld.com/core/listi...g_id=1394&url=

Thanks and sorry again for such a stupid post!

--Dave
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-03-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Dave...there are quite a few "traditional" type boats with this type of arranngement. You sit straddling the steering pedestal and it is actually a pretty comfortable position but does not allow the same freedom of movement as more modern arrangements.
This is a little hard to see but here is T. Kennedy at the helm of his boat in a similar arrangement.
Old 01-03-2007
Señor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough
Our marina friends with a Tayana 37 sit on either side of the pedestal when sailing, which side depends upon the tack. It does work well and is comfortable with crew aboard, especially when cushions in place. It is a bad setup for singlehanders though - winches are too remote and legs become restricted.
Old 01-03-2007
Thanks Courtney.

T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about