SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   New Racer (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/30176-new-racer.html)

Tucks 03-11-2007 05:58 PM

New Racer

Hi all. I have just began racing along the Gulf Coast. I am brand new to both sailing and racing. I really don't want to irritate my skipper or look like an idiot so I'm asking for any input you all have. I haven't seen my boat yet or my crew but I have met my skipper. Folks say her boat is sleek and fast so I really want to do a good job for her and win loads of races...regattas. Are there any books or magazines that might help get me up to speed on terminology, equipment, and technique? I'd love any information you can provide. The more, the better. Thanks.

Tucks
'Tucks knows what it means to miss New Orleans'
:D

tonic 03-11-2007 06:32 PM

Port means left. Starboard means right. Sheets are lines. Mains sheet and jib sheet. One controls the main sail, two control the jib, only one is loaded at a time. The one trimming the jib on the leeward side is the working sheet the one on the windward side is th lazy sheet. They lead to winches, allways wrap the sheet around them the way they spin from the bottom up, the more wind the more wraps you want. Usually three is enough for a smaller boat. Got to go. You'll get plenty more help here. PEACE HAPPY SAILING. Get the book The Complete Sailor by David Seildman. Covers about everything.

Giulietta 03-11-2007 06:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tonic