Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2007

carsonmcwhirter is on a distinguished road
Smile anyone interested in a possible apprentice?

i'm totally new to sailing. i know almost nothing but i have always had this desire to learn and eventually sail the world. i'm a 26yo male. i've been a touring musician for about 5 years so i'm somewhat used to travling for long periods of time in confined spaces. i just want to encourage my inner-adventurer in a peaceful way. sailing seems like it could be the most freeing way of traveling the world and eventually of living in general. if anyone has any advice and suggestions on how to begin my journey please respond. it will be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-24-2007

Kernix is on a distinguished road
Where do you live?

Just join a sailing club. They'll teach you the basics. Once you've been on a few trips, have hung around marinas and chatted with people to learn the ropes so to speak - then buy a used 12-16' sailboat for $1000 or so - that's like saving $100 a month for more or less a year. Practice on that and gradually learn and later buy bigger.

That's what I'm planning on doing - I'll go on at least 3 weekend trips this year - 1st one this weekend - 2 of the trips are for beginners. In the meantime I'm reading anything\everything on sailing and the sea - fiction, non-fiction, sailnet forums, etc. I think that this time next spring (or late fall '07) I'll buy a small sailboat for a $1000 or so - single-sail, enough room for me to sit in - spend '08 sailing, capsizing, and sailing some more after I've righted the boat.