SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Trying to leave the dock (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/33182-trying-leave-dock.html)

Rogan 06-03-2007 11:46 AM

Trying to leave the dock

Hello SailNet people! I am new to sailing and have been using a Morris 36' Justine. We have been practicing docking over the past few weeks and have gotten much better at not ending up sideways in our slip. Until the other day when we couldn't even get out of our slip!
The boat is tied up facing north on the starboard side. To get out we usually back up as far as possible then put it in foward and make a sharp turn to starboard. The boat usually rotates easily in the fairway. But the winds were out of the South and no matter how hard I tried the boat would not rotate enough to make the turn. The wind seemed to be keeping the bow from turning and our 17 year old little volvo was maxed out! There must be something I am clueless about but I am not sure what we could have done differently.

Any suggestions?

Thanks ahead of time.
Rogan

teshannon 06-03-2007 12:01 PM

Rogan,
Had a similar problem. Try walking the stern by reving it in reverse and then putting it in nuetral. Depending on the rotation of the prop the stern will move to either port or starboard and help line you up. You can try it first in the slip with slack stern lines to see which way it moves. Don't gun it too hard though. Let me know how you make out.
Tom Shannon

Rogan 06-03-2007 12:05 PM

Thanks Tom. The boat walks to Starboard which aggravated the problem that day. Winds out of the West today so might be awhile until we get to try it again with the same conditions.

sailingfool 06-03-2007 01:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rogan