Rules of the Road: Precedence? - SailNet Community

   Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here






Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-12-2007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 9
SEMIJim will become famous soon enough SEMIJim will become famous soon enough
Question Rules of the Road: Precedence?

So I got to thinking while on my post-lunch walk today (again)...

In math and computer programming we have the concept of "operator precedence." An example that we all learned probably as far back as grade school: "multiplication and divsion before addition and subtraction." E.g.: 2 + 2 * 4 is 10, not 16.

In sailing, we have the "Rules of the Road." From the book Sailing Fundamentals:
  • A boat on a port tack must give way to one on a starboard tack
  • A boat to windward must give way to leeward boat on the same tack
  • A boat that's overtaking must give way to a boat ahead
  • A boat coming about of gybing shall give way to a boat on tack
  • If one boat is running and the other close hauled and they're on the same tack, the running boat must give way
The question is: What is the precedence? E.g.: The rules say a boat on a port tack must give way to one on a starboard tack. But what if the boat on the starboard tack is overtaking the boat on the port tack? A running boat must give way to the close hauled boat, but what if the close hauled boat is on the windward side?

N.B.: I realize there is no absolute "right of way," and that every skipper is obliged to avoid a collision, even if their boat is the stand on boat.

Yeah, I'm probably over-thinking this (Or missing some really obvious things.)

Last edited by SEMIJim; 06-13-2007 at 12:31 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #2  
Old 06-12-2007
sailingdog's Avatar
Telstar 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 43,291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 13
sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Overtaking boats always have to stay clear of boats being overtaken regardless of the tack. This would also apply in the case of a sailboat passing a slow powerboat.

Generally, IMHO, a running boat must give way to a close-hauled boat regardless, since the close-hauled boat is much more limited in the changes in course it can safely make. A boat sailing close-hauled can only turn downwind, or risk going into irons.
__________________
Sailingdog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #3  
Old 06-12-2007
USCGRET1990's Avatar
SENIOR CHIEF
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: YORKTOWN, VA
Posts: 1,380
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 8
USCGRET1990 is on a distinguished road
yea, what he said...Chapman agrees..
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #4  
Old 06-12-2007
Thanks Courtney.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 3,954
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 10
T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about
"A running boat must give way to the close hauled boat, but what if the close hauled boat is on the windward side?"

I think you may be over thinking this one. The only way that is possible is if they have already passed.
__________________
hunter Legend 37 Semper Paratus
Formerly - Tartan 34C Yawl
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #5  
Old 06-12-2007
ASA and PSIA Instructor
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 3,436
Thanks: 6
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 15
sailingfool will become famous soon enough
First, Starboard over Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingdog
......Generally, IMHO, a running boat must give way to a close-hauled boat regardless, since the close-hauled boat is much more limited in the changes in course it can safely make. A boat sailing close-hauled can only turn downwind, or risk going into irons.
SD, your humble opinion may cause a little trouble if you are beating on a port tack and find yourself on a collision course with a boat running on starboard. That skipper is likely to expect you to give way per 12 (a) i. Rule 11 / 12: Application / Sailing Vessels and if you don't, you'll at least garner a nasty grimace for your failure, assuming the other skipper is paying attention. If he isn't, then it caould be ugly and not a situation you would want to explain to your insurance agent.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #6  
Old 06-13-2007
Faster's Avatar
Just another Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New Westminster, BC
Posts: 14,619
Thanks: 67
Thanked 183 Times in 177 Posts
Rep Power: 10
Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Definitely starboard over port first, as SF indicates. Any time a running boat is on a converging course with a beating boat, if they are on the same tack the running boat is burdened by being the windward vessel, if on opposite tacks, starboard prevails.

If a running boat on starboard is converging and overtaking another running boat on port, the port tack boat is obligated to get out of the way.

These are racing rules, casual sailors will not normally press these situations.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #7  
Old 06-13-2007
ASA and PSIA Instructor
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 3,436
Thanks: 6
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Rep Power: 15
sailingfool will become famous soon enough
Finally, overtaking keep clear...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Faster
.....If a running boat on starboard is converging and overtaking another running boat on port, the port tack boat is obligated to get out of the way....These are racing rules, casual sailors will not normally press these situations.
Faster,
You guys are making me like a boating lawyer.

You are correct as to the racing rules, (with some adjustments...) but the racing rules only apply to racing sailboats, when racing.

Otherwise, rule 13 (a) applies Rule 13: Overtaking stating the overtaking boat keeps clear, sailors out recreating should apply this rule, otherwise when there is a misunderstanding, the sailor who did not will bear the brunt...once again at least an irrated grimace...at worst the insurance liability...
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #8  
Old 06-13-2007
sailingdog's Avatar
Telstar 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 43,291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Rep Power: 13
sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingfool
SD, your humble opinion may cause a little trouble if you are beating on a port tack and find yourself on a collision course with a boat running on starboard. That skipper is likely to expect you to give way per 12 (a) i. Rule 11 / 12: Application / Sailing Vessels and if you don't, you'll at least garner a nasty grimace for your failure, assuming the other skipper is paying attention. If he isn't, then it caould be ugly and not a situation you would want to explain to your insurance agent.
As the OP did not specify that the boats were or weren't on the tack, I made the assumption that they were, you made the assumption they were not. If they were on the same tack, the windward boat, the one running, is going to have to stay clear of the leeward boat, which is beating.
__________________
Sailingdog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.

Last edited by sailingdog; 06-13-2007 at 09:28 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #9  
Old 06-13-2007
Thanks Courtney.
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 3,954
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 10
T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by T34C
"A running boat must give way to the close hauled boat, but what if the close hauled boat is on the windward side?"

I think you may be over thinking this one. The only way that is possible is if they have already passed.
If someone can find a way for this to happen with both boats on the same tack, let me know. Can't happen.
__________________
hunter Legend 37 Semper Paratus
Formerly - Tartan 34C Yawl
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
  #10  
Old 06-13-2007
duffer1960's Avatar
Catalina 38 Avantura
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Michigan
Posts: 208
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 15
duffer1960 is on a distinguished road
Actually, it's multiplication and division before addition and subtraction; therefore 2*4+2=10, not 12. 2*(4+2)=12.
__________________
Sincerely,
Russ Duff
Catalina 38, Hull #112
"AVANTURA"
Lake Erie
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

 
Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules of the Road John Rousmaniere Learning to Sail Articles 0 12-28-2003 07:00 PM
Rules of the Road John Rousmaniere Seamanship Articles 0 12-28-2003 07:00 PM
Rules of the Road John Rousmaniere Her Sailnet Articles 0 12-28-2003 07:00 PM
Understanding the Racing Rules Dan Dickison Racing Articles 0 02-10-2002 07:00 PM
Understanding the Racing Rules Dan Dickison Her Sailnet Articles 0 02-10-2002 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.

Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1
(c) Marine.com LLC 2000-2012

The SailNet.com store is owned and operated by a company independent of the SailNet.com forum. You are now leaving the SailNet forum. Click OK to continue or Cancel to return to the SailNet forum.