Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2007

wildcard is an unknown quantity at this point
Beam reach problems????

So Im still very new to this wind powerd thing and Im having a problem. Last time I sailed on a beam reach in 20kts I was hard over on the wheel and was still rounding up. Tried again yesterday in 16-18 kts and it was somewhat better but I still had to fight it. To get rid of the boats urge to round up I had to let the mainsail all the way out untill it was luffing hard.
Am I running too much sail and need to reef it in? or is there a problem Im not seeing?
35 foot full keel sloop rig if it matters.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-20-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Would help if you said what make/model of boat it was. Some boats, due to their design, have inherent problems with certain points of sail. It would also help if you said what sails you had up.... The behavior of a boat will change with different sails.

In 20 knots of wind, you should probably have de-powered the sails as much as possible... Also, it sounds like you didn't have the sail plan very well balanced, and that may have contributed quite a bit to your problem.

BTW, how badly heeled was the boat... some boats, once they heel past a certain point will just round up, and because you're heeled over so much, the rudder doesn't have enough of a grip on the water to make a difference.

Without knowing what boat you are sailing and what sails you had rigged, it is hard to say whether you had too much sail up or not. Some heavier 35' boats won't need to reef in only 20 knots of wind, others will need to reduce sail a bit.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.