Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2007
Scourge of Howe Sound

Hyperion is on a distinguished road
Wind vs Tide/Current

I've been sailing for a few years in the Pacific NorthWest, but until recently my moorage has had direct access to the ocean. What I mean by that is that once I rounded the breakwater, there was nothing between me and Hawai'i.

Several weekends back I bought a 24' boat for my fiancee which was located several kilometers east of the coast on the Indian Arm off Burrard Inlet. During the course of the brief sail from the boat's original mooring to her new home in my marina, I encountered something against which I assume I must have been sheltered previously by virtue of always having been on "open water." While clearing one of the narrower sections of the inlet, the water suddenly changed from what had been gentle 1-2 foot swells, to very short, almost jagged waves around 5-6 feet tall. There was also some really strange action on the tiller; not a consistent pull to one side, but current sort of throwing it back and forth.

It occurred to me - and I recall having read somewhere, I think - that there must be some interaction between the wind and tide that was causing this effect. The tide was flowing out (towards the West) and the predicted current at the spot in question was between 4 and 6 knots. The wind was blowing Eastward at about 15 knots. I assume because I was in the centre of a narrower section of inlet, the effect would have been more pronounced because, in part, of the Venturi effect.

So, after this long preamble, my questions are these:

1) Is there an effect when the wind is blowing against the tide? Does it have a name?

2) Is there a name for the particular type of waves I attempted to describe?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-04-2007
Owner, Green Bay Packers