Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2007

jimmiebuchanan is on a distinguished road
Dumb Winch Question

Alright, I'm new to sailing and have recently purchased my first boat (a 1972 Newport 27). I'm having a great time and I'm starting to get the hang of it, but I have a really dumb question to ask. The winches which I use for the jib sheets (when the wind actually picks up enough to need them) are not fixed to the boat. Meaning that I could just grab one and lift it right of its base. Lifting them even one inch defeats their racheting effect and lifting them more obviously means it comes completely off. This has to be wrong, right? I mean, what if you accidentally gave a little lift to the sheet while you were easing it out or pulling it in? The winch could easily rise a little and you would suddenly have no more racheting resistance. I just want to know if for some reason they are supposed to work this way. I really don't see anything "wrong" with them or anything missing, so I don't get how they could even be held down if they are supposed to be. I have a strong feeling this is a stupid question, so have mercy on me and my winch. Thanks
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-04-2007
Wandering Aimlessly

PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about PBzeer has a spectacular aura about
Yes, the winches need to be secured to the boat.

Free, is the heart, that lives not, in fear.
Full, is the spirit, that thinks not, of falling.
True, is the soul, that hesitates not, to give.
Alive, is the one, that believes, in love.
JCP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Website & Blog

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 09-04-2007
Señor Member