Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2007

merttan is on a distinguished road
Question Shallow keel sailboats

Hi everyone,
I'm new to sailnet as well as sailing. I just bought my firts boat last June. It's a Reinell 22 footer. I picked this particular boat for it's shallow keel, without thinking the balancing factor of it.
I used to sail with smaller boats those you don't mind capsizing Now I feel like a cat trying to avoid water... Yesterday I was out around New London harbor to witness some sailboats tilting so close to the water. I thought they were to capsize but were keep going without a fuss...
Does anyone have any experience or knowledge about those shallow keel sailboats? The draft is about 2-2.5' and makes me really nervous when the boat takes winds over 8knots... Am I simply being a amateur?
I'd appreciate any information. Thank you.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-14-2007
Here .. Pull this

Sailormann will become famous soon enough
You're going through a fairly normal process. Your boat is actually quite a bit more stable than it seems. Go slowly and only sail in winds that you feel comfortable handling. As you become more experienced, you will find you are mor confident about going out in stronger winds. Your boat will be able to handle it.

Good Luck and enjoy !
Old 10-14-2007

mstern is on a distinguished road