Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-17-2007

jack7382 is on a distinguished road
best place to learn to sail in the DC area

I am looking to find the best place to learn how to sail in the DC area. Or someone who is willing to give some sailing experience to my wife and I. Thanks for your help.

Paul
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-17-2007

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Paul,

If you are a complete novice, I would suggest that you take a "Basic Sailing" course right down on the Potomac. Two schools that come to mind are the Washington Sailing Marina (immediately south of Reagan National Airport on the VA side) and Belle Haven Marina (also on the VA side just south of the Wilson Bridge). If it's not too far for you to drive, my preference is Belle Haven Marina, because the river is wider/deeper there, and you do not have as much noise from aircraft taking off and landing. They instruct on Flying Scots, a good stable learning platform. The gentleman in charge, George Stevens, runs a solid program (I was an instructor there for a number of years in the early 90's).

If you already have some experience, it might be worth the extra time to drive out to one of the bigger sailing schools in Annapolis. There are many out there and I haven't heard anything bad about any of them, so do some internet research and see which one fits your experience level and schedule best. If you take a basic course locally in DC, this would also be the next step after building some experience by renting small boats on the Potomac. Best of luck
Old 10-17-2007
1975 Newport 28

jaschrumpf is on a distinguished road