SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Learning to Sail (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/)
-   -   Advice for first time on ocean (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/learning-sail/42251-advice-first-time-ocean.html)

jimmiebuchanan 04-14-2008 08:59 PM

Advice for first time on ocean

My girlfriend and I have been teaching ourselves to sail on the Columbia River for about 6 months now and we are considering taking our first day sail out on the ocean. We've done a ton of research on crossing the bar and that is a whole topic on its own, so let's leave that issue aside for the moment. Our boat is a 1972 Newport 27 and one of my concerns is where the transom is cut out for the outboard motor. Should I be concerned about getting swamped by large waves from behind due to the transom cutout? My naive optimism says, "hey, at least the water can also drain out the transom very quickly." Another area in which we could really use some advice is in dealing with the swell. Obviously it will be new to us since we have only sailed on the river. When we look at forecasts and try to decide a good day for the first trip what should we consider a "forget about it" amount of swell? When I see a forecast of swell at 12ft that sounds a little frightening, but then again I guess if the period were long maybe it wouldn't be dangerous and would instead just be sea-sickness inducing. Thanks for any advice.

zaliasvejas 04-14-2008 09:21 PM

Ocean waves are usually more comfortable the the river... As long as you stay away from the surf. Check the weather before you go and make sure you have alternate propulsion lined up (an engine). You might have to get back in a hurry...

Faster 04-14-2008 09:59 PM

Swells on the open sea are rarely a problem - and on their own are not going to be a problem vis a vis your transom cutout.

However you are dealing with the Columbia Bar, and here a high swell can turn nasty, especially on a strong ebb.