Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2002

bdkorth is on a distinguished road
Question about marine diesels

I am a landlocked beginner (In Idaho). My wife and I are trying to set ourselves up to be cruisers in a few years. In doing so, we are trying to learn essentials that will help us keep the cruising finances flowing after we cast off the bow lines. My question is regarding Marine Diesel engines. There aren''t any Marine Diesel places that I am aware of in Idaho, but lots of automotive diesels. Are the two types of diesels going to be similar enough for me to use the knowledge of automotive diesels successfully when trying to work on Marine Diesels? I would appreciate any input, as the resources in the capital of Potatoes are limited.

Thanks, Brad
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-05-2002

elfexor is on a distinguished road

Brad,

there are some differences, but they are relatively minor in that you can get up to speed with them very quickly if you have mechanical knowlege (and a good book) - the diesel engine is the easiest of all to work on. Good luck in following your dream

Francis X
Old 06-05-2002

Don Foley is on a distinguished road

Brad,
First, let me say that I know VERY little of auto diesels, so what follows is based on my intimate knowledge of my Volvo 2002 (in my boat) and what little I know of my neighbor''s truck.
Compared to auto diesels, marine diesels are a walk in the park. All the systems used to run your auto (which blaze along at 80 mph and thus need some safety concerns, like brakes and power steering) don''t exist on the marine animal. Even systems like A/C are usually completely separate (unless you have a cold-plate fridge system driven by an engine mounted compressor).