Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2008
A Quest for the Spirit

Dogsoldier is on a distinguished road
Sailing Schools in Houston Area

Hey Guys and Gals....I'm looking for a sailing school in the Houston area, Kemah, Clear Lake, Seabrook etc. to do an ASA school throught the Bareboat level. I've owned and sailed a 22' Catalina around lakes in the Arkansas, Louisiana, and Texas areas for about 10 years, but I have no saltwater experience outside of a couple of day rentals in San Diego of a like boat bobbing around in the bay. I'm looking to further my education with the goal of rentals in the Galveston Bay area as well as San Franciso Bay area (family).

Does anyone have any suggestions of schools to get into or ones to avoid in the Galveston Bay area?

BTW I've looked at lots of websites of schools in the area and many of them look quite good, but its hard to tell from a website.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.....
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-30-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Welcome to Sailnet. I'd recommend you read the post in my signature to help you get the most out of your time here. Can't recommend any schools in that area, but CD will be along in a bit and he can help, since he's from Texas.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)