Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2008

bigfatguy is on a distinguished road
Advice for a complete nOOb.

Hello all:

First of all, what a fantastic site; an overwhelming amount of information on an easy-to-navigate page with a community that seems unusually tolerant of newbies! I'd like to take advantage of that tolerance and ask the following:

I live in Las Vegas, NV, and have been completely infatuated with wind-powered sports for most of my life. I own a 17-foot ocean kayak and the recent addition of a couple of outriggers and a sail has turned my head toward sailing and toward bigger boats. I've been gliding around the lake for the past year or so, trying to develop a feel for the basic dynamics of sailing (I'm a P3-rated paraglider pilot so I have some small affinity with wind!). Which brings me to my question: how foolish would I be to purchase a used boat (probably in the 25-27 foot range) and continue to try to teach myself to sail? ASA classes are in short supply around here, but I'm certain I can find a group of recreational boat owners to tag along with. Am I learning any useful skills in the single-sail kayak; skills that will translate to a larger boat? Or should I just suck it up, spend a weekend in San Diego or Marina Del Rey and find an ASA-1 class?

Any advice or slaps to the head will be greatly appreciated.

bfg
Attached Thumbnails
Advice for a complete nOOb.-beached.jpg  
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-05-2008
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Welcome to Sailnet!

While taking the various ASA classes is a great idea, there are thousands out there that did just what you are contemplating - as did we - and it's easy to do .