Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-25-2008

ban3 is on a distinguished road
How do I work up to a charter on the Chesapeake

Hi Y'all,

I've had a few years of experience on small day sailers in the Baltimore harbor area and am interested in moving up to some bigger boats. I also have some experience crewing on a 30' Beneteau crossing the bay and on a racing crew on a 36' boat on Lake Michigan near Chicago. I'd eventually like to get comfortable with bareboat charters here on the Chesapeake and perhaps elsewhere as well.

I'm looking for some advice on the best way to build up to this. I'm considering taking the ASA 103/104 course once the weather warms up. Just curious if people feel that this is either necessary or sufficient for bareboat chartering in on the Bay. I've tried looking around on some charter company sites for requirements but can't find many specifics. I see that they all require sailing resumes to be submitted. What are they looking for there anyway?

Cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-25-2008

chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough chucklesR is a jewel in the rough
Your best bet is to call the company you wish to charter from and see what they require, as only they can really tell you - and you might be surprized at how little it actually is.

If you want sailing experience on the bay, there are a number of yacht clubs (like mine) that encourage walk on crew for their weekly races. Personally, I always welcome sailnet members to come out sailing with me on a friday night race.
Old 12-25-2008
Barkeep - Sailor's Pub

craigtoo will become famous soon enough craigtoo will become famous soon enough
Send a message via AIM to craigtoo Send a message via Yahoo to craigtoo Send a message via Skype™ to craigtoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by ban3 View Post
Hi Y'all,