Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009

shenry11 is on a distinguished road
Car Battery & Tipping the Boat

I purchased a Chrysler Lone Star 13 boat last fall. I have only had it out four times. I have a desire to sail, and a desire to fish. I have my boat set up so that I have a trolling motor on the stern, hooked up to a car battery. I do not have a great deal of confidence, ok, I have NO confidence as a sailor yet. I have this fear that I'll tip the boat over at some time. The fishing gear I can lose. But what will happen if I tip the boat and the car battery comes in contact with water. Will it shock? Will it blow up? Will it safely sink to the bottom of the lake? I know, I worry too much!! I'm an accountant, I get paid to worry!!

Thank you!
Steve
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-29-2009

magicmoments is on a distinguished road
It will sink. It will not shock or blow up, the acid will dilute rapidly, the lead however will leach into that part of Marine heaven for all eternity so make a effort to retreave it asap.
Old 01-29-2009
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Car batteries aren't really designed for use with trolling motors, which really require a deep-cycle battery instead. Car batteries are designed for very high loads for relatively short periods of time and then recharging completely. A trolling motor puts a mid-range load on the battery for an extended period of time and it can be hours or days before it sees recharging. Most lead-acid batteries will last far longer if only drained to the 50% charge level. Draining them further than that generally shortens their life drastically.