Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Skills and Seamanship > Learning to Sail
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2009

SpeedAgent is on a distinguished road
Sheet rubbing on rigging

Total newbie question, but what better place to ask...? I may regret this.

Yesterday was my second time sailing...ever, and I have a question about the proper technique for adjusting my genoa/foresail. When tacking I would release the sheet on the leeward side as the boat tacked and began trimming on the opposite side so the sail would be full when the boat was in proper position. (I know there are a lot of terms I should have just used)

My question is this; as I'm tacking, releasing and trimming the sheet on the opposite side the sheet is getting hung up on the mast rigging until the wind blows it off. I trimmed the sheet until it hung up and then it would not budge without serious effort. I feel this is not correct as the friction would deteriorate the sheet very quickly. Not to mention this doens't look like it is great for the health of the rigging over time.

If I'm wrong and this is correct please let me know, otherwise, if you have any suggestions I'm all eyes and ears.

Regards,
Chris
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-09-2009

SpeedAgent is on a distinguished road
Additional insight;

I just watched a video online about "tacking a sailboat" and this boat (similar in size to my Catalina 27) had the foresail lines on the inside of the rigging-mine is on the outside. Which is the correct way? My lines were already there when I bought the boat so I did not mess with it.

This would make sense, but is it correct?

Thanks,

Chris
Old 02-09-2009
Great Lakes Sailor

padean is on a distinguished road
There are many answers to your question, but let me give you my opinion. This is not an uncommon scenario, and you will need to try some minor modifications of your tacking technique to see what works best.